Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Department of Agriculture Faculty

Department Chair and Associate Professor: Dr. Joey Bray
Professor: Dr. Erin Brown, Dr. Michael Maurer, Dr. Craig Morton
Professor Emeritus: Dr. David Creech, Dr. Dale Perritt
Associate Professor: Dr. John Michael Mehaffey, Dr. Leland Thompson
Assistant Professors: Dr. Jared Barnes, Dr. Candis Carraway, 
Dr. Stephanie Joes, Dr. Franta Majs

Lecturer: Emily Payne


Department Objective

The main objective of the Department of Agriculture is the preparation of students for the exciting and challenging fields of modern agriculture. The faculty and staff are dedicated to the discovery and dissemination of new and existing knowledge related to agriculture and to the cultural, intellectual and academic development of students.

While providing primarily undergraduate instruction, the department also provides general graduate studies in agriculture, public service, and research, with emphasis on regionally identifiable needs and concerns.

The Department of Agriculture at Stephen F. Austin State University offers a personalized, quality education, supplemented with hands-on instruction. Our faculty is very concerned with the success of the individual and will guide your educational experiences to better prepare you for opportunities in a professional career in agriculture.

Take this brief glance at the Department of Agriculture and see what we have to offer.